Magnetic Shielding for Motor Control Center

In summary, the magnetic field in the room where electrical equipment is being interfered with is originating from the Motor Control Center. It is a high field and is causing health concerns. The suggested solution is to shield the area with iron sheet material, but it may not be the best solution.
Aaron William
Hey guys and gals,

I'm not an electrical-anything so please forgive my lay-person speak.

I work in a lab. One of our rooms has a high magnetic field. It is causing interference with some analytical and computer equipment. Of course there is some health concern as well...

Half of this room shares a wall (8-in concrete) with a Motor Control Center (Square D model 4) for our fume hoods, air handlers, compressors, what-not. It is clearly the source. I think the magnetic field is emanating from the solenoid relays...

We use a cheapo EM meter (Trifield 100XE) to determine that the magnetic field is 100+ mGau at the wall and drops to @0 when I back up about 5 feet away from the wall. The field is only present on the half of the room that shares a wall with the MCC.

Even if the meter isn't all that accurate it is clear that we can't put analytical equipment or people in that space (health effect studies are inconclusive - the worst kind for a management-type like me!). Cordoning that area and using it for storage would not be our first choice.

Is there any way to shield against this in a cost effective way? Could the excessive field be caused by improper grounding or is it a necessary evil for MCC operation?

Engineering news on Phys.org
The magnetic field of the Earth where I live is given in Wolfram Alpha as 583 mGauss, so 100 mGauss would not be detectable.

If you are worried, you should get this evaluated locally, but it is unlikely that a few relays would generate much stray magnetic field. They are designed to use power efficiently and not leak magnetic field.