Machine design software/services

In summary, a robotic arm that can cut objects would require a large machine with many axes, and would be very expensive.
mdlwn
Hello..sorry if this has been covered elswhere... I am a complete noob. I'm trying to find out how to develope a robotic arm or similar machine to cut 3 dimensional objects. Are there software programs that would create mechanical solutions based on a set of known results needed?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Sounds like what you want to make is a CNC (Computer Numerical Controlled) mill. There are home-made ones that can be done relatively cheaply, it all depends on what material you want it to cut, how large, and what the accuracy should be.

Do a search for "home made CNC mill" on Google, and you'll find what you want. making one will require some familiarity with machining processes, as well as absolute positioning and motion controlled-systems. Good luck!

I was thinking of a multi axis robotic arm that could sculpt objects anywhere from 2-20' or so...like a robotic welder. Still trying to learn what is required axis, extensions, etc to cut any potential shape. Well maybe not any shape, but a ball would likely be a good goal. Any resource info or a direction would be greatly appreciated.

mdlwn said:
I was thinking of a multi axis robotic arm that could sculpt objects anywhere from 2-20' or so...like a robotic welder. Still trying to learn what is required axis, extensions, etc to cut any potential shape. Well maybe not any shape, but a ball would likely be a good goal. Any resource info or a direction would be greatly appreciated.

Well suffice to say such a system would be large and very expensive! Sculpt objects out of what?

Mech_Engineer said:
Well suffice to say such a system would be large and very expensive! Sculpt objects out of what?