Looking for a thermodynamics book that 'ties it all together'

DrBanana
I am currently a highschool student, and while I've learnt a bit about thermodynamics such as the first and second laws, their implications, I'd like to know how that stuff relates to gases and (without going too deep into it) phase change. Due to the structure of our curriculum, I've learnt about the ideal gas equations, plus some stuff about real gases as well, but all of that has been in a non-cohesive way. As it stands, a lot of definitions given seem circular. So I would like a book that gives you a historical, chronological context and explanation of the gas laws, somewhat rigorous explanations of properties of real gases, and how that ties in to the laws of thermodynamics, of which I would also like some intuitive derivations (without getting into statistical mechanics).

To give an example of what I'm talking about, my book explains one or two things using the concept of vapour pressure, without explaining what that is. I'd like to know the physics about things like vapour pressure in a book that's more or less built from the ground up. I'm sorry if my post is too vague.

P.S. The word 'thermodynamics' in the title is just a placeholder, I'm not really sure what subject deals with this stuff.

Physics news on Phys.org
Atkins: Physical chemistry
Çengel: Thermodynamics
Reid, Prausnitz, Poling: The properties of gases and liquids
Smith, van Ness: Introduction to chemical engineering thermodynamics

##\ ##

This might be advanced but try W. Greiner, Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics, Springer. It is a statistical physics book but the first section of the book is a recap on thermodynamics written for physicists.

In my personal view, one of the greatest problems I had learning thermodynamics is that many books are written for scientists in general and are full baggage that is only useful for chemists and engineers.

Likes dextercioby
pines-demon said: