Looking for a metric to express difference between two curves

In summary, the two curves in question look very similar, but their areas differ. The ellipse and the interpolated curve I get from the photo look very much alike, but I need an actual number to show how much the two curves differ from each other. I thought of \frac{Area_{actual} - Area_{ellipse}}{Area_{actual}}but it doesn't really give any information about how much the curves match (a square with the same area as the ellipse would give 0 deviation). I'm kind of new to Riemannian geometry, but I thought that maybe I could use the Riemann curvature tensor, although I don't really know how to do it yet
meldraft
Hi all,

I am trying to argue that an ellipse is a good approximation for some discontinuity in a material. The ellipse and the interpolated curve I get from the photo look very much alike, but I need an actual number to show how much the two curves differ from each other. I thought of

[tex]\frac{Area_{actual} - Area_{ellipse}}{Area_{actual}}[/tex]

but it doesn't really give any information about how much the curves match (a square with the same area as the ellipse would give 0 deviation).

I'm kind of new to Riemannian geometry, but I thought that maybe I could use the Riemann curvature tensor, although I don't really know how to do it yet :P . I would appreciate any suggestions you are able to give!

Physics news on Phys.org
Here is a possibility:

Let X be the interior of the first curve and let Y be the interior of the second curve. Then you can make

[tex](X\setminus Y) \cup (Y\setminus X)[/tex]

The area of that should be a good (pseudo)metric to describe what you want.

If the curves can be expressed in polar form [itex](r(\theta), \theta)[/itex], perhaps using as origin of coordinates the center of your suggested ellipse, then maybe you could use
[tex]\int_{\theta_1}^{\theta_2} (r_{ellipse} - r_{interp})^2 d\theta[/tex]
(Am I making sense?)

Thank you both for your answers!