Limits, and why they're important

In summary, limits are an important concept in calculus and physics, providing insight into the behavior of a function at points where it is undefined and playing a crucial role in the definition of the derivative and definite integral. They are useful for understanding the behavior of a function near its points of interest and are a more rigorous approach than visual representations or hand calculations. In real world applications, limits are often used in creating models and predicting long-term behavior. Limits are also at the core of modern calculus and the real and complex number systems.
elusiveshame
I'm still very new to the world of calculus and physics, and while I understand how to do limits and such, I don't understand the usefulness of them, and I'm hoping some of you can help me understand why limits are important and why we bother with them.

Here's my understanding of them currently: to find when a function either has an upper bound (or lower bound) at a certain value or beyond.

My question is (and probably due to inexperience) is, when writing functions, wouldn't you already know where the limits would be? I mean, you wouldn't throw in arbitrary values into a function that you're applying to a system, so wouldn't you already know where the function will end (or I guess in some cases, break)?

Is there an example of where, or why, limits are useful?

Physics news on Phys.org
elusiveshame said:
I'm still very new to the world of calculus and physics, and while I understand how to do limits and such, I don't understand the usefulness of them, and I'm hoping some of you can help me understand why limits are important and why we bother with them.
One of the most important use of limits is in the definition of the derivative of a function at a point.
$$\lim_{h \to 0}\frac{f(a + h) - f(a)}{h}$$

The definite integral is also defined in terms of a limit.