Learning Visual C++ 2010 Express IDE: Recommended Resources

• C/C++
  • Thread starter PaulS1950
  • Start date
  • Tags
    C++ Visual
In summary, you can create a stand-alone Windows application using drop-down menus and pop-up windows without using the WinApp template, but you will need to use C#.
PaulS1950
I need to learn how to use the Visual C++ 2010 express IDE.
My programming skills are good enough to write code but when i open a project in the 2010 IDE I am overwhelmed by what is presented as the starting code. I have never used this environment before. Is there a good book on the IDE that will help me understand what I am looking at?

Technology news on Phys.org
What do you mean "starting code"? Do you mean code generated when you create a project? If so, it is not a problem with IDE, but with the task and project template. To understand the code you need to know something about API you are going to use.

Start a new project, then be sure to click on next, then "empty project", before clicking on finish.

Visual Studio will automatically generate code for a new project only if you explicitly tell it to. You can do this by, for example, instructing it to use precompiled headers or to add headers to your project for ATL or MFC classes. If you don't know what any of this means, pick yourself up a good book on Visual Studio and start studying.

You can prevent anything being added to a new C++ project by telling VS to produce an empty project in the new project wizard.

It all depends what your looking to do. If you just want to practice writing C++, your best best is to create a console application. That will just give you a main method which you can start implementing.