Learning more languages at once?

• Python
  • Thread starter doktorwho
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the potential impact of learning multiple programming languages, particularly Python, Pascal, and C. While familiarity with Python may be beneficial when learning Pascal and C, it is advised to not learn multiple languages "halfway". It is recommended to focus on one language and its fundamentals before moving on to others. Python is described as a high-level language that hides complexity from programmers, while C provides a deeper understanding of the underlying processes in a computer's memory.
doktorwho
Hi, let me explain the situation. I am learning python on my own, as i am a beginner i found it to be the most suited to my style. I am also doing lots of courses and know quite a bit about it. Now the problem. At my school this month we're starting to learn pascal and in january we are learning C. Will this affect my Python progress or vice versa? I mean will it be the same for the to learn C as if i was not already damiliar in Python, better or worse?
Thanks

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
I think it depends a lot on what kind of person you are. Familiarity with Python may really be to your advantage when learning Pascal (I did not know they still teach that in schools) and C, as long as you keep in mind that there are substantial differences between these languages, their natural domains of application and their underlying philosophies, particularly between Python versus Pascal and C.

On the other hand, I think you should be careful not to learn two or three languages "half". It is my impression that I learn a language best by using it to solve problems I encounter on a daily basis. Using three languages interchangeably for this would be more confusing than helpful to me.

Likes doktorwho
doktorwho said: