Laptop for students recommendations

In summary: ASUS Eee line, which is meant to compete with netbooks. They're small, portable, and have a lower cost than the larger laptops.In summary, the conversation revolved around a student looking to buy a laptop within a budget of $500 for basic use such as surfing, watching movies, and listening to music. The options discussed included a laptop from a deal website and recommendations from friends, with some suggesting to go for a reputable brand such as Dell, HP, Sony, or Lenovo, while others suggested considering Asus for its better build and design quality. The conversation also touched upon the importance of considering the components and design of the laptop for long-term use. Overall, the consensus was to go for a quality brand or
yelopq
Hi,there,i am a student, i want to buy a laptop by myself,only use for surfing ,movies,music and so on.I have no enough money, my budget is better within $500 bucks.DO u have a good recommendations?
My friend suggested me go for http://www.dealstudio.com/searchdeals.php?type=id&q=d191780&ru=27702787" ,but i am not sure for its quailty,the price looks so good.
What do u think about it ?Is it great?
Any other options?

Last edited by a moderator:
Computer science news on Phys.org
That looks like a fairly good spec laptop. I'd certainly go for it.

4GB DDR3 is better than most these days.

Jared

I'd stick with a quality brand. This 15in from dell is also $400
http://www.dell.com/us/p/inspiron-15/pd

Personally I only buy HP. But I know Sony is good too.

For a cheap laptop with a good spec I think the one in the OP is pretty good. He doesn't seem to want to do much with it.

Never had a dell, although I've always wanted to have a customised one (£2000+), customise it yourself on their site job. Got everything.

These are the top brands (imho):

1. Sony VAIO
2. DELL
3. HP

I use DELL and they have a great technical assistance team. But Lenovo is not a bad laptop.