Kinematics - Find acceleration

In summary, the conversation is about finding acceleration when given the distance a car stopped at and its initial speed of 80 km/h. The equations discussed are for constant acceleration and average velocity, and the one recommended for this problem is v^2=u^2 + 2as. The last part of the conversation is about whether the acceleration is constant or not, but since the question asks for acceleration, it is safe to assume that it is constant.
hi,
i need help on a question... if a car stop in a distance of 50m from the speed of 80 km/h how do you find the acceleration is m/s/s? thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
What equations of motion do you know? How about rearanging:

[tex] v^2=u^2 + 2as[/tex]

i've never used that equation before but all the other equations i know are for constant acceleration or average velocity

888 said:
i've never used that equation before but all the other equations i know are for constant acceleration or average velocity

Well what equations do you know?

The equation I put up was for constant acceleration and speeds.

the equations that i know are: aver. v= v2+v1/2
x2= x1+v1t+.5at^2
v^2=V1^2+2a(x2-x1)
v2= v1+at
those are only for constant acc.

aver acc= v2-v1/t2-t1
aver. vel.=x2-x1/t2-t1

888 said:
v^2=V1^2+2a(x2-x1)

This is the same equation as Kurdt posted above, and it is the one that you should use to solve this problem.

Thats just fine because you are looking for the constant acceleration.

however the question doesn't say it's looking for constant acceleration

888 said:
however the question doesn't say it's looking for constant acceleration

But it does say to find the acceleration, and unless you know how to find a non-constant acceleration you should just assume that you are looking for constant acceleration.

Related to Kinematics - Find acceleration

1. How do you calculate acceleration in kinematics?