Kinematic problems with angles

In summary: Woo-hoo!In summary, at a speed of 19.7m/s, a jump over 20 m horizontally requires a flight time of .354s.
Dylon
This is my first year taking a Physics class, so this might just be a simple question but I'm stuck.

Homework Statement

A stunt driver wants to make his car jump over eight cars parked side by side below a
horizontal ramp. (a) With what minimum speed must he drive off the horizontal ramp?
The vertical height of the ramp is 1.5m above the cars and the horizontal distance he must
clear is 20m. (b) If the ramp is no tilted upward, so that the “take off” angle is 10° above
the horizontal, what is the new minimum speed?

Note: I already solved part A and got an answer of 35.71m/s

Homework Equations

Velocity = Initial Velocity + (Acceleration x Time)
Distance = Initial Distance + (Initial Velocity xTime) + 1/2(Acceleration)(Time ^2)
Velocity ^2 = Initial Velocity ^2 + 2acceleration(Distance - Initial Distance)

There might be others too I don't really know, sorry.

The Attempt at a Solution

As I said before I already got the answer to part A. Did that by simply finding the time, then solving for velocity. What's throwing me off now is the addition of the 10 degree incline. If someone could maybe show me how to account for that slope of the take off ramp, that would be awesome.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF,

What's the horizontal component of the velocity at launch for the second case? Does it change during flight?

What's the vertical component? This will tell you the max height reached, and therefore the time spent in the air.

I think, not sure, that the vertical velocity is -5.488m/s, and the horizontal one is 35.71m/s.

Edit: I think those could be wrong, since there's probably going to be a new time with the 10 degree angle.

Last edited:
Dylon said:
Just used the wrong equation sorry, I'll get back to you