Job to Pursue while Majoring in Physics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's background as a non-traditional student majoring in astrophysics and working as a bicycle mechanic. They express their desire to find a science-related job while still pursuing their degree. The conversation also mentions the speaker's experience in data research/analysis and their friends' experiences in various science-related jobs, such as working in a lab or teaching. Salary and networking are also mentioned as important factors in finding a job in the science field. The speaker offers advice to network and highlight relevant skills when applying for jobs.
zoiberg137
I am a non traditional student, 28 year high school dropout, who is starting on my third year of college majoring in astrophysics with the intention of earning a minimum of a masters either in physics or engineering. I am also going on my 7th year as a bicycle mechanic. I used to love my job but have grown tired of it to say the least. I make 15 hourly with benefits and enough flexibility to earn full time salary while taking 2-4 classes per semester.

I am pretty sure I already know the answer to this but... are there any science related jobs that I might want to consider while I am still working towards my first degree? I am married and have a mortgage so I can't take much in the way of salary decrease...but I am desperate to get out of my current field of work asap. Is is emotionally draining to have become so bored with my job and I can't stand thinking about what else I might be accomplishing with these 8 hour work days.

Any thoughts or experience shared is appreciated :)

Physics news on Phys.org