Is this use of the grad function correct?

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of vector calculus and the relationship between temperature and distance from a heat source. The speaker presents their own question and model for how temperature varies as distance increases, and requests verification of their solution. A correction is made regarding the differentiation and the importance of the negative gradient is explained. The gradient indicates the direction of greatest increase, which in this case is away from the heat source, and the negative sign reflects this.
CraigH
Hi,
I am currently studying vector calculus, and to try and understand it I have created a question for myself, and it would be greatly appreciated if someone could verify that I have answered my question correctly, and I have done everything right.

Okay here it is; Point Q in the room is a heat source, how does the temperature vary as you move away from the origin (0,0,0)

http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/4250/gascube.png
http://imageshack.us/a/img841/4250/gascube.png

.The further away from point Q you are the less heat there is. This can be modeled by:

[itex] dt = \nabla t .dr[/itex]

.(dt) is a scalar, it is a change in temperature
.(dr) is a vector, it is a change in distance of x, y and z [itex](dr=dx\hat{x} +dy\hat{y} +dz\hat{z} )[/itex]
.(del t) is a vector, it is the amount t changes for x, y, and z, for a change in distance of x,y,and z

For the purposes of this example I am going to say that the heat at any point equals 1 divided by the square of the distance from q.

In the x direction
[itex] t = \frac{1}{(xq-x)^{2}}[/itex]

In the y direction
[itex] t = \frac{1}{(yq-y)^{2}}[/itex]

In the z direction
[itex] t = \frac{1}{(zq-z)^{2}}[/itex]

Where (xq,yq,zq)=(0,2.5,2.5) And (x,y,z) is the point you are at

So, [itex] \frac{dt}{dx} = 2(xq-x)^{-1}, \frac{dt}{dy} = 2(yq-y)^{-1}, \frac{dt}{dz} = 2(zq-z)^{-1}[/itex]

And the final answer is: