Is this possible? Omnidirectional Load Pin

• Thread starter FinanclEngr
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Load Pin
In summary: So, it would be okay to have the load rotate.However, the strain gauges would need to be strategically placed so that the loads on each side of the shaft cancel out.
FinanclEngr
Please take a look at the attached diagram. This is a rough representation of a concept my team and I would like to implement in a project. Initial research suggests that such pin-based weighing systems are strictly unidirectional (i.e the basic clevis pin loan cells). Our platform rotates while bearing a load with force always in direction of gravity i.e. load does not rotate with weighing cylinder, but "hangs" (forgive my verbiage here - I'm not an engineer). Hopefully the diagram conveys the idea. Assuming I've provided enough information, is this possible either utilizing currently available hardware or designing a new load sensor with multiple strategically placed strain gauges?

Attachments

• Concept1.jpg
    Concept1.jpg
    28.7 KB · Views: 465
Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
What is the problem this device is supposed to overcome - and what is it supposed to do?

It is usually not desirable to allow the load pin to rotate, but it is not forbidden.
An unthreaded clevis pin passing right through the clevis and held by a split pin, or even a regular bolt, will do this.

More importantly, what's our cut of the royalties? :p

Simon Bridge said:
Welcome to PF;
What is the problem this device is supposed to overcome - and what is it supposed to do?

It is usually not desirable to allow the load pin to rotate, but it is not forbidden.
An unthreaded clevis pin passing right through the clevis and held by a split pin, or even a regular bolt, will do this.