Is structural engineering worth it?

In summary, the speaker is a third-year student pursuing a dual degree in construction management and environmental engineering. They are interested in a career with a high income and quality of life and are debating between a structural engineering and construction management career. They are considering switching to a structural engineering track, but it may add an extra semester or two and the classes will be in a language they are not fully fluent in. They are wondering if they can still become a licensed structural engineer if they stay in their current track. The speaker is studying in Israel and is from Canada. The requirements for licensure as a structural engineer vary by country.
TNesher
Hi,

Right now I am in my 3rd year of a dual construction management and environmental engineering degree. I have an interest in building things (both design & construction), but more important to me is a career with a high income and quality of life. I am debating between a structural engineering (SE) and construction management (CM) career. Can you tell me which is better?

If a structural engineering career is better then I would consider switching out the rest of my environmental classes and take the structural engineering half-track instead. But since I am so far in my degree, taking structural might add an extra semester or two. And the classes will be in Hebrew, which I am not fully fluent in. Therefore my grades might drop (I am currently a deans list student).

If I stay in my construction management & environmental civil engineering track, can I still become a licensed structural engineer in the future?

I am studying in Israel - at the Technion Institute of Technolony - but am from Alberta, Canada

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hmmm... Tell you which is better to get you your high income and quality of life. And don't give you an open ended answer.

I can't imagine why you are not getting more responses.