Is My Light Meter Reading in mLux or Lux?

In summary, the conversation is about a light meter that was set to 2000 instead of 2, and the question of whether the readings are in mLux or just Lux. The experts suggest that the unit may have measured 1253 Lux, but more information is needed to determine the exact units and make and model of the meter. They also provide some additional information about typical light levels for different settings.
otterandseal1
Hi, I'm studying physics and was wondering about the light meter I used. It was set to 2000 so I could get readings, instead of 2 because the readings wouldn't show. Does this mean my values I get from the light meter is in mLux (milli) or just Lux?

Science news on Phys.org
I am just guessing here because I don't have the manual that came with your meter. If your setting is 2000 and the reading is 1253, then it means 1.253 Lux.

Hi there, @otterandseal1
and welcome to PF :smile:

kuruman said:
If your setting is 2000 and the reading is 1253, then it means 1.253 Lux.
or 1253 Lux ... depends on what the units of the 2000 is
otterandseal1 said:
Hi, I'm studying physics and was wondering about the light meter I used. It was set to 2000 so I could get readings, instead of 2 because the readings wouldn't show. Does this mean my values I get from the light meter is in mLux (milli) or just Lux?
mate, you really need to tell us lots more info
Make, Model even a sharp and clear photo of the front of the unit would be extremely helpful

2000 means nothing to us if you don't tell us the unitsDave

Likes russ_watters
davenn said:
Hi there, @otterandseal1
and welcome to PF :smile:

or 1253 Lux ... depends on what the units of the 2000 ismate, you really need to tell us lots more info
Make, Model even a sharp and clear photo of the front of the unit would be extremely helpful

2000 means nothing to us if you don't tell us the unitsDave