Is it Appropriate to Ask for Ideas on Mechanism Design?

• Thread starter SteamBC
  • Start date
In summary, SteamBC asks if it's appropriate to pose questions here. People with no formal education are welcome, but questions must relate to physical possibilities.
SteamBC
Hello,

I'm an amateur inventor without a formal mechanical engineering education, and I've been looking for a place where I can pose a question asking for ideas on how to achieve a certain motion, or how to design any mechanism to achieve a given purpose.

I haven't had time to lurk here for any length of time, and I wanted to ask if asking such questions is appropriate here. I don't want to ruffle any feathers, annoy people with my lack of formal education, or disobey the rules, so I thought it would be a good idea to ask.

Thanks for any input!

Physics news on Phys.org
Assuming it's not about
a, if a plane can take off from a treadmill
b, if a boat can sail downwind faster than the wind
c, god/astrology/religion/pyramids/your own theory proving that the universe is the shape of a teapot

YES

Last edited:
SteamBC said:
Hello,

I'm an amateur inventor without a formal mechanical engineering education, and I've been looking for a place where I can pose a question asking for ideas on how to achieve a certain motion, or how to design any mechanism to achieve a given purpose.

I haven't had time to lurk here for any length of time, and I wanted to ask if asking such questions is appropriate here. I don't want to ruffle any feathers, annoy people with my lack of formal education, or disobey the rules, so I thought it would be a good idea to ask.

Thanks for any input!

Hi SteamBC, both you and your questions are absolutely welcome here! Review the rules if you like, the link is in the menu bar (they really aren't hard to follow). You'll find people here are very helpful, it doesn't matter if you are a newbie.