Is Electrical Engineering a Promising Field? Exploring Other Options.

In summary: If you can't get at least a B in any math course in any college, forget about EE.In summary, Electronics is the future, but it is not here yet. You have to be willing to work hard and have a good interest in the field to succeed. If you do not have good grades in math courses, it is unlikely you will succeed in the field.
CordWilliams
Im a 2nd year EE student and lately I have been worrying about if i am in the right engineering field before I start to go into my major and I wanted to know is EE a promising engineering field? and if not, which engineering field is?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Electronics is the future, question is whether it is here or other country. The short sightness that we out source the jobs and train the other countries what we are the strongest might sent the jobs away for good.

That said, don't look at it only as a career. First ask yourself whether you like it or not. In the 90s when jobs were abundant, lots of people become EE where they have no place to be at. They just went in for the money. Ask yourself whether it is your interest first. Go with your heart, not your brain.

Also, it depends on how well you are doing in the classes also. Be realistic. If you struggle to get mostly C's and some B's, particularly if you are in some state college, there might be a message for you. Hate to sound negative, it's a cold world.

I mean, they were willing to outsource the unskilled labor overseas, why wouldn't they do the same with skilled jobs?

Woopy said:
I mean, they were willing to outsource the unskilled labor overseas, why wouldn't they do the same with skilled jobs?