Is dn = dS = 0 when two phases are equilibrium?

In summary: Then the combined system is at equilibrium if and only if its entropy is maximal. And if the entropy is maximal, then the sub-systems must be individually at equilibrium. That last step is the tricky one.In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of thermodynamic equilibrium and its relationship to phase equilibrium. The group agrees that phase equilibrium is a subset of thermodynamic equilibrium, and that a system is in thermodynamic equilibrium if and only if its entropy is at a maximum. The conversation also touches on the conditions for a system to be in equilibrium, including constant internal energy, volume, and particle number.
Philethan
Hello, every one! I'm studying the Section 9.2 - Phase Equilibrium of "Classical and Statistical Thermodynamics" written by Carter.

In equation (9.21) and (9.22)

He said:

[itex]dS_{A}=\frac{1}{T_{A}}(dU_{A}+P_{A}dV_{A}-\mu _{A}dn_{A})[/itex]-----(9.21)

[itex]dS_{B}=\frac{1}{T_{B}}(dU_{B}+P_{B}dV_{B}-\mu _{B}dn_{B})[/itex]-----(9.22)

I think dS and differentials of all other state variables should be zero! That is, dSA=dSB=dnA=dnB=dVA=dVB=...=0

Is it correct? If it's correct, then I cannot get the following conclusions which needs to assume those increments dUA,dVA,dnA,... could be arbitrary.

TA = TB (thermal equilibrium)
PA = PB (mechanical equilibrium)
μA = μB (diffusive equilibrium)

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
No, why should these differential be constant?

DrDu said:
No, why should these differential be constant?
It's due to the definition of equilibrium. In other words, if those macroscopic state variables are not constant, then it's not at equilibrium.
For example, if the color of the solution is changing, then it's not at equilibrium.

I don't know why I was wrong..