Integration by parts for a definite integral

In summary, the conversation involves a discussion about integration by parts and evaluating integrals. The conversation starts with a question about using boundaries when evaluating a certain integral, and the conversation continues with a discussion about the process of integration by parts. The conversation then moves on to a specific problem and a solution is provided with a summary of the steps taken to arrive at the solution. The conversation ends with a comment about the difficulty of learning integration by parts and a further discussion about the answer provided in the text.
Matt1234
[PLAIN]http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/8933/lastscante.jpg

I am new to integration by parts and am not sure what boundries to use when eveluating v on the bottom right.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Matt1234 said:
[
I am new to integration by parts and am not sure what boundries to use when eveluating v on the bottom right.
[tex]v=\int10e^{-30t}dt[/tex]

[tex]=-{{1}\over{3}}\int-30e^{-30t}dt[/tex]

[tex]=-{{1}\over{3}}\,e^{-30t}[/tex]

SammyS said:
[tex]v=\int10e^{-30t}dt[/tex]

[tex]=-{{1}\over{3}}\int-30e^{-30t}dt[/tex]

[tex]=-{{1}\over{3}}\,e^{-30t}[/tex]

Thanks for your reply.
Here is what i and up with, not sure how to proceed with the next integral:

[PLAIN]http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/2261/lastscann.jpg

answer in the text is :
-e ^ (-30t) [ 0.16 cos (40t) + 0.12 sin (40t)]

can someone please help me find where I am going wrong?

If you haven't done integration by parts before, this one can be pretty tricky.

Write your equation as [tex]q(t)=10\int_0^t e^{-30t}\ \sin(40t)\ dt [/tex]

To avoid messing around with a lot of coefficients, let's evaluate the indefinite integral:

[tex]\int e^{at}\ \sin(bt)\,dt[/tex]

This will require two applications of integration by parts. The result will look as if we've gotten nowhere, but a little algebra will cure that.