Integrating an exponential function over [itex]|x|+|y| \leq 1[/itex]

In summary, the conversation discusses how to integrate e^{-2(x+y)} over a diamond centered around the origin. The person mentions that the region is symmetric over the x-axis and y-axis, but using the symmetry of e^{-x} or e^{-y} is not applicable. They suggest splitting the integral into two parts, with one half of the diamond being integrated over at a time. Additionally, the boundaries for the integrals are discussed, with one choice being to divide the diamond in half by the y-axis. The intervals for integration of the left and right halves are also mentioned.
math.geek
OK, I'm new to multi-variable calculus and I got this question in my exercises that asks me to integrate [itex] e^{-2(x+y)} [/itex] over a diamond that is centered around the origin:

[itex]\int\int_D e^{-2x-2y} dA[/itex]

where [itex]D=\{ (x,y): |x|+|y| \leq 1 \}[/itex]

I know that the region I'm integrating over is symmetric over the x-axis and the y-axis, but [itex] e^{-x} [/itex] or [itex] e^{-y} [/itex] are neither odd nor even to use the symmetry that way.

Obviously, the diamond is symmetric over the axes [itex] x+y [/itex] and [itex] x-y [/itex]. Does this help?

Physics news on Phys.org
Split it into two integrals where one is over one half of the diamond and the other is over the other half!
Then you can write the boundaries of the integrals from [itex] D=\{ (x,y): |x|+|y| \leq 1 \} [/itex] easily.

Which haves?

Give me some more details please, I'm not looking for a full solution, only an explanation of how you're setting up the integral.

One choice is dividing the diamond in half by the y axis.Then you have two double integrals,one for the left half and the other for the right one.The interval for the left half integral is [itex] -(x+1) \ to \ x+1 [/itex] for integration w.r.t. y and -1 to 0 for integration w.r.t. x.I think you can figure out the intervals for the right half integral by plotting D.