Insulating PEX Tubing for Radiant Floor Heating

• Thread starter n_delta89
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Insulation
In summary,An engineering student is designing a radiant floor heating system. The inlet water is at 180 degrees Fahrenheit, and the outlet temperature will be lowered to between 160 and 170 degrees Fahrenheit. The second loop will again have a 20 degree loss and the returning water will be mixed giving a temperature of 150-160 degrees Fahrenheit. The system will be kept at this temperature until the house zone temperature is reached.The student asks if it is possible to use insulation to protect the floor from the high temperatures. The answer is that it is not necessary, but it is a good idea to protect the floor with something. The system will be kept at a temperature between 160 and 170 degrees Fahrenheit with insulation, but there will be a
n_delta89
Hello Everyone.
As an engineering student, I've been reviewing this forum many years. This is my first question.
My team and I are designing a radiant floor heating system using pex tubing.
The inlet water to pex tubing is 180 F, we assume that the outlet temperature will have a delta T loss of 20 F. This return temperature will be mixed with a mixing valve and sent back to the floor at a temperature between 160-170 F. The second loop will again have a 20 F loss and again this returning water will be mixed giving a temperature of 150-160 and thus the eventually the temperature in the tubes will be lowered down to 120-130 F and maintained there until the house zone temperature is reached.

My Question is:
Will it be viable to install insulation on top of pex tubing to protect the cork floor since the inlet water is at such a high temperature. The manufacture recommends that the cork floor be subjected to 120-130 F temperatures. Since the system uses a mixing valve we can lower the temperature down to this point, but there will be a delay(not sure exactly how long).