Independence of Gauss's law and Ampere's law

In summary, the conversation discusses Maxwell's equations and their relationship to classical electrodynamics. The speaker is confused about how Gauss's law can be derived from Ampere's law and asks for clarification. The respondent explains that Maxwell's correction is needed to connect the two equations and that charge conservation is a crucial aspect. The conversation also touches on the importance of boundary conditions and the differential form of Maxwell's equations. Overall, the conversation provides insight into the intricacies of Maxwell's equations and their role in understanding electrodynamics.
loom91
Hi,

I'm just learning about Maxwell's equations in high-school and was playing around with them. Supposedly they are 4 independent and self-sufficient equations that when connected with the Lorentz force law will predict classical electrodynamics in its entirety. But then, it appears to me that Gauss's law can be derived from Ampere's law! How can this be possible?

Ampere's law with Maxwell's correction:-

[tex]
\int_{\partial S} \vec{B} \cdot \vec{dl} = \mu i_S + \mu \epsilon \frac{d\Phi_{E,S}}{dt}[/tex]

Now let us take the limit as S becomes a closed surface. In this limit, the line integral of B vanishes (a closed surface has no boundary), while on the right side we have the net current coming out of the closed surface plus the electric flux over the closed surface. Note the the net current coming out = - rate of change of charge enclosed by the surface. This gives us

[tex]\epsilon d\Phi_{E,S} = dQ_S[/tex]

Integrating, we get

[tex]\Phi_{E,S} = \frac {Q_S}{\epsilon}[/tex]

Which is Gauss's law for electricity.