If you could have only ten books on your shelf

• Thread starter LateralThink
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Books
The Feynman Lectures on Physics - vol 1,2,3 - a timeless classic - (counts as one book)4) The Road to Reality - Penrose (counts as one book)5) Calculus, 6E - Stewart, (counts as one book)6) The Elegant Universe - Greene (counts as one book)7) The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy - Adams (counts as one book)8) How to Lie with Statistics - Huff (counts as one book)9) The Book of Numbers - Conway & Guy (counts as one book)10) Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman! - Feynman (counts as
LateralThink
Hello Physics Forum!

First off I would like to say hello! I have been hanging in the shadows for a couple of months but it is time to introduce myself. I'm an engineering physics student at UBC in British columbia and have an interest in math, phsics, and engineering - which leads me to the reason I started this thread...

If your collection of books were to be reduced to ten books or less and you could pick any books you like, what would they be? They don't have to be a science or math oriented books, just leave a short description of why it earns a place on your shelf if the title doesn't say enough. I'll start off.

1) How to Win Friends and Influence People - Dale Carnegie
2) The Art of War - Sun Tzu
3) 7 Habits of Highly Effective People - Steven Covey

I chose these three because they are good all around books on day to day life.

4) Calculus Early Transcendentals - James Stewart
5) Contemporary Linear Algebra - Howard Anton, the first year LA book I used (any other recommendations for a LA book?)
6) The Nuts and Bolts of Proofs - Antonella Cupillari, a simple intro to proofs led by example

I am sure there are others but can't think of any right now but let's see what everyone else has to say.

Likes gracy
Physics news on Phys.org