I am a scientist, I cannot provide a webpage title for this content.

In summary: So, if you had a sine wave with a frequency of 20 Hz, each cycle would have a voltage of 20V. If you also had a 400 Hz wave, each cycle would have a voltage of 400V. The 400 Hz wave would "interfere" with the 20 Hz wave, and the amplitude of the 20 Hz wave would be reduced.
Jake
Ok A question here about how AM & FM modulation works.

I know that AM trasmits the sound by varying the voltage of the radio signal, and FM varies the frequency itself of the signal, however, viable sound needs two things, varying frequency AND VARYING AMPLITUTE. So the modulation, whether FM or AM, transmits only 1 variation, so it needs to transmit one more for the volume of the sound, how does it transmit that?

Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Jake said:
Ok A question here about how AM & FM modulation works.

I know that AM trasmits the sound by varying the voltage of the radio signal, and FM varies the frequency itself of the signal, however, viable sound needs two things, varying frequency AND VARYING AMPLITUTE. So the modulation, whether FM or AM, transmits only 1 variation, so it needs to transmit one more for the volume of the sound, how does it transmit that?

Thanks!
Jake,

AM varies the amplitude of the radio signal, not the voltage. After all, the radio signal is a wave -- its voltage is always changing.