I am a non scientist and would like to know easiest way

• Thread starter alexandracohen
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Scientist
In summary: I see. So, I would not even try this at home?If you had proper supervision and a decent place for it, you could try a mixture of Sulfuric A. and Hydrogen Peroxide known as Piranha Solution.
alexandracohen
to dissolve a plant, that has outgrown the crystal decanter that it is in and is rootbound. I have cut the plant and will reroot it. but now I would like to have my decanter back. is there a safe way for me to do this?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Yes, simple decomposition - rot. Wet the decanter contents, keep it warm and out of sight. When the decomposition is complete then rinse the residue away.

thank you, I will try that but was hoping that there would be something that would work a lot faster, possibly some sort of safe chemical that would speed up the process

What do you consider safe for you and for your crystal? NaOH/lye/caustic soda is used in food preparation - lutefisk - but is also considered an NFPA 3 health hazard.

from what I am reading, I should use a large container with a wide mouth - to prevent the fountain effect, but that's not possible- the opening is the size of a wine cork.
then I read to use cool water, add the flakes at little at a time and then stir. but I am unable to stir because everything is jammed in there.
so probably should not be trying this at home- was hoping for another safer chemical to try

I don't know how the crystal will react to caustic solution. Some kinds of glass can be etched by alkali and become dull.

thanks for jumping in. would you have any suggestions?

Consider:
If you use a powdered chemical (or flakes), dissolve the stuff in a small amount of water first. Doug's idea about organic material is spot on.