How to find which z-value to cut at to get the appropriate volume of a sphere

In summary, the conversation is about finding the z-coordinates to make a horizontal cut in a unit sphere to get a specific volume cut off. The speaker has a basic understanding of calculus and is seeking help with finding the solution.
Pixel08
Hi PF!

I've been trying to find out how one could find which z-coordinates to 'cut' at to get a specific volume of the sphere cut off.

i.e. I have a unit sphere, therefore the total volume is (4/3)*pi*r^3, where r = 1. Now I want to get 1/4 of that volume cut off. So, (1/4)*(4/3)*pi*r^3.

But the problem is, how do I find out where I made that single cut? (The cut has to be horizontal).

Mathematics news on Phys.org
What is your mathematics background?

DivisionByZro said:
What is your mathematics background?

Hi DivisionByZro! I'm a first year student, just started post-secondary. Not much of a mathematics background - took a differential calculus course last term.

What do you know about integrals?

I would suggest using the formula for the volume of a spherical cap, which is V = (1/3)*pi*h^2*(3r-h), where h is the height of the cap and r is the radius of the sphere. In this case, we know the total volume of the sphere and we want to find the height of the cap that would give us 1/4 of that volume. So, we can rearrange the formula to solve for h:

h = r - √(3V/(4pi*r))

Plugging in the values for a unit sphere and 1/4 of its volume, we get:

h = 1 - √(3*(1/4)*(4/3)*pi*1) = 1 - √(3/3) = 1 - 1 = 0

This means that the height of the cap is 0, which makes sense since we want a horizontal cut. Therefore, the z-coordinate of the cut would be 0, and the volume of the spherical cap would be 1/4 of the total volume of the sphere.