How to determine inner and outer radii for 'Washer Method'?

In summary: In my experience, the vast majority of people who are self-taught and attempting to learn calculus for the first time do quite well without spending hours and hours working on graphs.This is definitely true for me. I've found that, as long as I have a rough idea of what the function looks like, I can usually solve the equation for the function's value at any point.
emergentecon
I'm curious if there is a heuristic or method to determine the inner and outer radii as used in the Washer Method, WITHOUT needing to graph anything?

Physics news on Phys.org
Strictly speaking you never have to "graph" if you can determine which value is larger. If you problem is to determine the volume of the region between y= f(x) and y= g(x), rotated about the x-axis, then the "outer radius" is the larger of f and g for all g in an interval while the "inner radius" is the smaller. While it is worth checking if f(x)= g(x) in the interval (whether the two graphs cross so one gives the inner radius for one part of the interval and the other for another part), that seldom happens. As long as the two curves do not cross, the "washer method" is exactly the same as doing two "disk method" calculations, then subtracting the smaller from the larger.

Likes emergentecon
Wow thank you so much! The answer was staring me in the face - but your explanation made it clear!
Apologies for the lax use of the word 'graph'.

emergentecon said:
I'm curious if there is a heuristic or method to determine the inner and outer radii as used in the Washer Method, WITHOUT needing to graph anything?
Notwithstanding anything that HallsOfIvy said, it doesn't hurt to graph the two functions, and to graph the solid of revolution that is formed from them. Having a good mental image of the relationship between the two functions is usually very helpful, so why would you want to skip this step in understanding?

Likes emergentecon