How Is Magnetic Force Calculated on a Cylinder in a Gradient Field?

In summary, a chemistry student is seeking help in calculating the magnetic force on a cylinder caused by a gradient created by sitting in an annulus. The annulus has a height of h and outer and inner radii of ro and ri respectively. Another cylinder with a height of h and radius r also exists, creating a gap with a width of ri-r. This gap produces a field gradient on the centered magnetic. The student is not familiar with E&M and is looking for assistance. One suggestion is to assume two current carrying rings and calculate the force of one on the other. The student is seeking confirmation from others.
ramez
I am a chemistry student that is trying to calculate the magnetic force on a cylinder due to a gradient produced by sitting in an annulus. The annlus is a cylinder of height h with outer radius ro and inner radius ri. The other cylinder has height h and radius r such that a gap exists with width ri-r. This gap produces a field gradient on the centered magnetic. I am not too sazy with E&M and would appreicated any assistance. Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think if you assume you have two current carrying rings and calculate the force of one on the other it will work. Does everyone agree?

The magnetic force on a cylinder can be calculated using the formula F = BIL, where B is the magnetic field strength, I is the current, and L is the length of the cylinder. In this case, we can consider the cylinder to be a loop of current, with the current flowing in one direction along the length of the cylinder.