How is an electric motor's power rating defined?

In summary, the program was offering motors that were three to four times the size of what would be necessary for the 10 watt load. This made no sense to me, so I investigated and found that the torque required was high, and that only high powered motors could handle the current.
tomizzo
So, I'm not an expert on electric motors. I have yet to take a formal class on electric motors. But I am however in a position where I'm required to size a couple electric motors for a project.

I've been using software that is supposed to help size motors depending on the application and I recently came across something that I can't explain.

Specifially, I found the amount of power that was required to move a mechanical load. This ended up being around 10 Watts. However, this load had a high torque but moved rather slowly which is what lead to the low calculated power. But when I tried finding a suitable motor, the program was offering motor solutions of 3 to 4 kWs.

This made no sense to me. Why would a 10 Watt load require such a high powered motor? I then realized that because the torque was so high, this meant there would be a large current associated with it. I interpretted this as if only high powered motors could handle this high of current, so that's why I was bumped into that range.

But I'm still not happy with this answer. Could anyone explain this to me?

Engineering news on Phys.org