How does the swimmer analogy explain the movement of light in the ether?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of "ether" as a medium through which light travels, as well as Michelson's "swimmer analogy." The question is posed as to how light with any component of motion in the "ether wind" direction could move without a deflection in path. The response explains that in this theory, the light would be deflected, but Michelson's experiment disproved this idea. The final clarification is made that light does not actually need a medium to travel.
Fawkes511
On the Ether "Swimmer Analogy"

I am a high school student working through Lillian Lieber's The Einstein Theory of Relativity. She addresses Michelson's "swimmer analogy" (that light traveling through the ether could be compared to a swimmer traveling in a stream). I am confused as to how, in this theory, light with any component of motion in the "ether wind" direction would be able to move without a "deflection" in path. Help?

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi, I am also a high school student but took Relativity last semester. By the way when you refer to ether what do you imply. Do u imply ether as being space or ether as being a stream of possible interference in space like light passing through a huge planet( gravitational field).

I mean "ether" as the medium through which light travels, as envisaged in Michelson's day (i.e. as a fixed frame of reference through which the Earth would move). Perhaps if I were to write "luminiferous aether," my meaning would be more apparent?

I'm not sure if I understand your question, but I think the answer is that the light *would* be deflected under this theory. When Michelson's experiment found that this didn't actually occur, it put a big hole in the whole idea of an "aether".