How does the base-emitter voltage control the collector current in a transistor?

• Thread starter PrincePhoenix
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Transistors
In summary, a transistor works by having a current flow between the base and emitter. This current is controlled by the base voltage.
PrincePhoenix
Gold Member
I was just curious about trying to understand how transistors work, but didn't understand it properly.
http://amasci.com/amateur/transis.html"

I found this site through google, which claims that most traditional explanations have contradictions and wrong concepts. And that this simple explanation is how a transistor really works.
I just want to know whether what is being said and explained here is true.

I am a high school student so I haven't formally read transistors in my course yet.

Thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
interesting site haha

he is really arguing over minor things when it comes to the basic understanding of what is happening

So what flows inside of wires?

The stuff that moves within wires is not named Electric Current. Intead it is called Electric Charge. It's the charge that flows, never the current. And in rivers or in plumbing, it's the water that flows, not the "current." We cannot understand plumbing until we stop believing in a magical stuff called "current." We must learn that "water" flows inside of pipes. The same is true with circuits. Wires are not full of current, they are full of charges that can move.

yeah yeah, fair comment we call it current for "ease of understanding" the "Electric Charge" or moving electrons is a current

but it still goes back to a small current flowing (And we won't even go into conventional Vs electron current flow) between the Base and Emitter opens the Collector to Emitter path and controlling the amount of that flow controls the amount of flow between the Collector and Emitter.