How Do You Calculate Forces and Velocities in Physics Problems?

In summary, the conversation discusses three physics problems involving velocity, force, and conservation laws. The first problem involves a diver and their velocity when jumping off a diving board, as well as the force of the water when they hit it. The second problem involves a car and its braking distance, and the third problem involves Super Mario jumping off a platform and the final velocity of the platform. The relevant equations used are Vi = √2ghi, F∆t = -mVi/∆t, F∆t = mVf - mVi, and m1V1,i + m2V2,i = m1V1,f + m2V2,f. The conversation also mentions using energy and momentum conservation to
chops369
Homework Statement
Ok, I have a couple problems that I'm having trouble with. Bear with me, my physics teacher can be a little creative...lol.

1. I am an expert swan diver. If I am jumping off a 3m diving board, what is the velocity with which I strike the water? If the water brings me to rest in 0.3 seconds, what is the force the water applies to me?

2. Driving along in your 850 N Mini Cooper you pass by a hemp clothing yard sale and slam on your brakes. If you were traveling 20 m/s and your brakes apply a force of 8000 N in the opposite direction, how long does it take you to stop? How far do you skid?

3. Super Mario, who weighs 5 kg, is standing on a platform, which weighs 25 kg. Seeing Bowser in the distance he jumps off the platform with a speed of 3 m/s to the right. What is the final velocity of the platform?

Relevant equations
Vi = √2ghi
F∆t = -mVi/∆t
F∆t = mVf - mVi
m1V1,i + m2V2,i = m1V1,f + m2V2,f

I'm not sure if there are any others that I need, but I have a feeling that I'm missing something.

The attempt at a solution
For the first problem, I used Vi = √2ghi and found the man to be going 7.7 m/s. Then I tried to use the equation F∆t = -mVi/∆t, but I don't have the mass. Is there another equation to use or did my teacher just forget to include mass? (he does that a lot)