How Do I Solve a Logarithmic Equation with Parameters and Find the Value of x?

In summary, the conversation is about finding the value of x in the equation a*x + b*ln(x) = c, with parameters a, b, and c. The person asks if they need to use differential equations and another person suggests using the Newton Raphson method. They also mention using a scientific calculator or Excel to compute the result. Another person brings up the Lambert's W function as a possible solution.
abra
Hi everyone. I'm new in the forum and I'd need an help to solve this equation (sorry, I think it's quite easy but I'm not an expert of mathematics..):

a*x + b*ln(x) = c

where a, b, c are parameters and I need to find the value of x.

Do I need to use techniques of differential equations?

Thanks a lot for any help.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
You need to use Numerical Techniques.
Have u come across Newton Raphson method ? It should do just fine on this one.

-- AI

No, I've never used the Newton Raphson method.. thanks, i'll have a look to this technique, however, I suppose I need to use some maths softwares to compute the result, isn't it?

No. Any scientific calculator will work. You could also use Excel, if you choose.

Hopefully, you won't have to go through too many iterations.

There is also the "Lambert's W" function. It is defined specifically as "W(x) is the y satisfying yey= x". In other words, it is the inverse of the function xex.

Related to How Do I Solve a Logarithmic Equation with Parameters and Find the Value of x?

1. What is a logarithmic equation?

A logarithmic equation is an equation that contains a logarithm, which is the inverse of an exponential function. It is typically written in the form y = logb(x), where b is the base of the logarithm.

2. How do I solve a logarithmic equation?