How do I correctly write 3x3 matrices using the text editor?

• Thread starter applechu
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses how to correctly use the text editor in a forum to enter matrices. The user asks for a manual and provides an example of their attempt, which is then corrected and improved by another user with the use of LaTeX code. The second user also suggests using parentheses or square brackets for the matrix and provides a tip to use ## or $$ to surround the code.
applechu
Hi:
I am a newbie to this forum, and I don't know how to
use the text editor correctly. If I hope to write an 3x3 matrices,
how to key in it correctly in this thread.
and furthermore, if there any manual about the editor, thanks a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org
I have tried a example as following, but still not work:
\begin{matrix}
1 & 1 & -1\\
1 & -1 & 1\\
1 & 1 & 1
\end{matrix}

is there any other method, thanks

applechu said:
I have tried a example as following, but still not work:
\begin{matrix}
1 & 1 & -1\\
1 & -1 & 1\\
1 & 1 & 1
\end{matrix}

is there any other method, thanks

That looks pretty good! If you want round parentheses around your matrix use pmatrix:
$$
\begin{pmatrix}
1 & 1 & -1\\
1 & -1 & 1\\
1 & 1 & 1
\end{pmatrix}
$$
and for square brackets use bmatrix:
$$
\begin{bmatrix}
1 & 1 & -1\\
1 & -1 & 1\\
1 & 1 & 1
\end{bmatrix}
$$.

Also, surround your LaTeX with either ## or $$ (click 'Quote' to check out my example).

thanks

Related to How do I correctly write 3x3 matrices using the text editor?

1. How can I manipulate the text in a document?

There are several ways to manipulate text in a document, depending on the specific task you want to accomplish. Some common methods include using text editors or word processors, using programming languages like HTML or JavaScript, or using specialized software such as text manipulation utilities.

2. What is the purpose of manipulating text in a document?