How can I create a battery powered LED that flashes 8 times per minute?

• Thread starter brian04
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Led
In summary, a 555 timer can be used to set the flash rate on a battery powered LED. The timer is adjustable to set the flash rate to 8 flashes per minute for a duration of 2 hours.
brian04
Hey team i need some simple electrical engineering advice. I am a surgery resident and I need battery powered LED that flashes at 8 times a minute. Research funding is about as easy to find as health insurance so I am trying it on my own. I thought about just taking apart a flashing light that I use when i ride my bike to work but I am not sure conceptually the mechanism for changing the timing of the flash.
Project requirements:
- small (about the size of the old school plastic rings out of the 25 cent machines)
- battery powered
- 8 flashes per minute
- duration of flashing 2 hours max

I am thinking that I'll just build the circuit on a hinge so that when the attachment site is expanded to a hemisphere it completes the circuit and the light begins to flash. Any thoughts would be great. Especially on the timing mechanism.

Engineering news on Phys.org
brian04 said:
Hey team i need some simple electrical engineering advice. I am a surgery resident and I need battery powered LED that flashes at 8 times a minute. Research funding is about as easy to find as health insurance so I am trying it on my own. I thought about just taking apart a flashing light that I use when i ride my bike to work but I am not sure conceptually the mechanism for changing the timing of the flash.