Help solving an equation for 3d modeling

• Thread starter edward5elric
  • Start date
  • Tags
    3d Modeling
In summary, you are converting a 3D model from a file format to a programming language. You are having trouble figuring out an equation. If you want the background of what you are doing, you can explain it to me but it is not necessary to solve your problem.
edward5elric
This is my first post and I'm pretty much lost when it comes to linear algebra. I am a programmer and I am currently working on converting a 3D model format for personal purposes. I am having trouble figuring out an equation. If you want the background of what I am doing I'll be happy to explain but it really isn't necessary to solve my problem.

Lets say that I have two matrices (4x4) M1 and M2. One vector4 v. I transform v by M1 to get v1 and v by M2 to get v2. So...

M1 * v = v1
M2 * v = v2

I am looking for some matrix X.

X * v1 = v2, solve for X.

What I came up with is X = (M2 * v) / (M1 * v), cross out v and get X = M2 / M1 or X = M2 * M1_inverse.

This does not produce the result I am looking for. Any suggestions? Thank you for any help.

Physics news on Phys.org
X = M2*M1^-1 is correct, so it would seem your implementation is wrong somehow?

Thanks. I probably made a programming error.

I take it the problem isn't anything so obvious as M1 being not always invertible?

edward5elric said:
Thanks. I probably made a programming error.

I'd start by checking that the inverse is actually the inverse, ie multiply by M1 and see you get (almost) the identity matrix. Next I'd check that I got the order of the multiplication right for the matrix multiplication routine I'm using (ie perhaps you should call it with (M1inv, M2) and not the "natural" way).

As a side note, a slightly less "hairy" way to get to the answer is this:

M1 * v = v1 ==> M1^-1 * M1 * v = M1^-1 * v1 ==> v = M1^-1 * v1

M2 * v = v2 ==> M2 * (M1^-1 * v1) = v2 ==> (M2 * M1^-1) * v1 = v2