Help for zeta functional equation

• Thread starter ilario980
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Functional
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of contour integrals in the proof of the functional equation of the Riemann zeta function. The integrand is bounded on the circle of radius epsilon, and the author uses this to show that the integral on the circle vanishes as epsilon approaches zero. The conversation also includes a discussion on finding upper and lower bounds for the integrand and using the ML estimate. Finally, there is a question about whether this approach can be used for Re(s)<1.
ilario980
hi,
i'm studying the functional equation of riemann zeta function for Re(s)>1;
my book(complex analysis by T. Gamelin) use contour integral in the proof, where the contour is taken on the usual 3 curves (real axis and a small circle [tex]C\epsilon[/tex] around the origin). I'm not able to figure why the integral on the circle vanish as epsilon->0; the text report:

since [tex]e^{z -1}[/tex] has a simple zero at z=0, the integrand is bounded on the circle |z|=r by C [tex]\epsilon^{re(s)-2}[/tex]

wich is the estimate that the author use in this assertion?
i'm new to complex analysis and i want to say (if possible) what argument I've got to study
thanks

I.M.

Physics news on Phys.org
ilario980 said:
hi,
i'm studying the functional equation of riemann zeta function for Re(s)>1;
my book(complex analysis by T. Gamelin) use contour integral in the proof, where the contour is taken on the usual 3 curves (real axis and a small circle [tex]C\epsilon[/tex] around the origin). I'm not able to figure why the integral on the circle vanish as epsilon->0; the text report:

since [tex]e^{z -1}[/tex]

This appears to be a typo for [itex]{e^z}[/itex] - 1.

has a simple zero at z=0, the integrand

What's the integrand?

is bounded on the circle |z|=r by C [tex]\epsilon^{re(s)-2}[/tex]

wich is the estimate that the author use in this assertion?