Help for Schrodinger's Equation

In summary, the Schrodinger equation is a difficult differential equation that is used in quantum mechanics. It can only be solved for the hydrogen atom and hydrogen-like atoms, and the time-independent solution for the hydrogen atom is just a function of sines and cosines. The simple harmonic oscillator can also be solved using Hermite polynomials or ladder operators, and the finite well can be difficult to solve because it involves breaking up the differential equation into three parts and matching boundary conditions. However, a purely mathematical knowledge of different solutions to the Schrodinger equation is otherwise quite wasted. To really appreciate what is happening with the Schrodinger equation, it is important to understand what a wavefunction is (prefer
misogynisticfeminist
Hi, I'm quite new to quantum physics, and I know that the Schrodinger's equation should be at the quantum physics section but I was wondering if anyone can guide me into the mathematical part of it. I'm only a secondary school student, and can do differentiation and integration. (definite integrals, product/quotient rule etc.) the very basic ones.

A Step-by-step guide on the mathematical aspect to solve Schrodinger's equation would be very very much appreciated thanks...

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Schrodinger's equation, in general, is a very difficult non-linear differential equation. Look up the "RKB approximation" in a good quantum mechanics text. It is actually a variation of the "perturbation method" which is covered in advanced d.e. texts.

This whole tex thing isn't working out for me. Do a google search for "infinite square well" and you will come up with the classic first example that most students ecounter with the equation. From there, look at the finite square well and simple harmonic oscillator.

Last edited: