Help Deriving Intensity Equation for Optical Michelson Interferometer

When Δ is a half-integer multiple of the wavelength, the cosine function will be equal to -1, resulting in a lower intensity. This explains how the interference pattern is created in the equation.In summary, the equation for the intensity of light in a Michelson interferometer can be derived by understanding how interference affects the path difference between two rays. The first term, I/2, represents the initial intensity of light being split in half by the beam splitter. The second term, (1+cos(2∏vΔ/c)), represents the interference pattern created by the two rays, with the cosine function describing
hphdx

Homework Statement

inter_fig_michelson.jpg

I am currently studying the optical Michelson Interferometer and I am in need of help with a derivation.

The equation I need to derive is that for the intensity of the light arriving at the viewing point. The equation is given below.

Homework Equations

I(Δ)=I/2 + (1+cos(2∏vΔ/c))

Where Δ=2(d2-d1) (i.e the path difference of the rays)

The Attempt at a Solution

I understand the need for the I/2 term to be the beam splitter splitting the intensity of each ray to half. I can see how the bracketed terms lead to the result for destructive and constructive interference by substituting in some values, but cannot derive the equation 'from scratch'.

Many thanks to anyone that can explain the derivation to this equation.

Physics news on Phys.org

Dear student,

The equation you are trying to derive is known as the interference pattern equation for a Michelson interferometer. It describes the intensity of the light arriving at the viewing point, which is dependent on the path difference of the two rays. Let's break down the equation and see how it can be derived.

First, let's define some variables:
I(Δ) - intensity of light at viewing point
I - initial intensity of light
Δ - path difference between the two rays
d1 - distance traveled by one ray