Help Ants are EATING My Laptop

• Thread starter Panthera Leo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Laptop
In summary, I covered the area with salt, and it seems to be working. The Ants are not entering anymore, but they are not leaving my Hard disc nor my Laptop.
Panthera Leo
Hello,

A colony of Ants attacked my External Hard Disc (I couldn't find any source of food in it) After removing the Hard Disc from the desk (i.e. the attacked place). The Ants began attacking my Laptop.

By colony I mean a tremendous number of Ants.

Please note that I am living in Thailand and there are plenty of small and medium-sized Ants here.

I will highly appreciate your guidance and comments in solving this disastrous problem.

Thanks in advance,

Biology news on Phys.org
Hi Panthera,
I'm no ant expert, but I know they follow a chemical trail, so I suspect they're finding their way to your computer along a single 'ant road'. You can wash the 'road' away with soap and water. Then put an ant trap on the road. Happy hunting!

if you have found where they are coming from, then a dusting of boric acid will poison them without poisoning you.

some baits are highly effective too, and will kill the queen when they return the food to the nest.

i can't imagine why they are attracted to the computer equipment unless you've dropped some food on it.

I recall reading that some species are attracted to some types of plastic.

There was a story of cars that were exported from some more northern country to tropics, where ants (or were these termites?) immobilized them eating plastic isolation from cables.

Q_Goest said:
You can wash the 'road' away with soap and water. Then put an ant trap on the road.

I have already tried water and soap but it's of no use!

I have covered the area with salt...! It seems to work the Ants are not entering anymore but they are not leaving my Hard disc nor my Laptop.

Thank you for your kind reply.

Borek said: