Handwriting recognition for maths

• MHB
  • Thread starter cmml100
  • Start date
In summary, Mandy is a university student seeking opinions on whether a freely available handwriting recognition technology for mathematics would be beneficial for online communication. She has prepared a short survey and is wondering if it would be okay to post the link on the forum. She is also open to suggestions for similar existing technologies and has a budget for trying out new ones. There is a mention of a touchscreen version for taking notes on a tablet, but it has not been found yet. The conversation also touches on the importance of saving un-rendered files in case of incorrect symbols and the potential benefit for disabled students.
cmml100
Hi,

My name is Mandy and I am very new to this forum. I am a university student who is debating whether a freely available handwriting recognition technology for mathematics expression can make life a lot easier for those who want to communicate mathematics on-line. I have prepared a survey and wondered if it would be objectionable to post the link up here to ask for your opinions. The survey is fairly short and basically only asks for information such as do you use MS Word Maths editor, Latex etc. It should take only a few minutes.

Click here to take the survey: https://www.isurvey.soton.ac.uk/5561

I would be really grateful for the help,
Mandy (Happy)

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
cmml100 said:
Hi,