Green's Theorem homework problem

In summary: If you think what I did was wrong because my bounds were incorrect I can type up my work.But maybe it will be helpful to see my integral, so here is what I wrote down:∫∫(y2-2x)dxdyWith x bounds as I wrote previous and y bounded between -3 and 5.I just want to know if there's an easier way to do this problem, because it was time consuming. I'm still learning so I often don't see shortcuts.If not, then cool I set up the problem correctly and just made a mistake along the way. I can
lumpyduster

Homework Statement

Let C be the closed, piecewise smooth curve formed by traveling in straight lines between the points (-2,1), (-2,-3), (1,-1), (1,5) and back to (-2,1), in that order. Use Green's Theorem to evaluate the integral ∫(2xy)dx+(xy2)dy.

Homework Equations

Green's Theorem:

∫Pdx+Qdy = ∫∫(∂Q/∂x-∂P/∂y)dxdy

The Attempt at a Solution

I first found ∂Q/∂x to be 2y2 and ∂P/∂y to be 2x.

I am struggling to find bounds that are easy to use for the double integral. I tried keeping x fixed and integrating from the y = (2/3)x-5/3 to y = (4/3)x+11/3. But that got messy quickly.

Then I tried keeping y fixed and integrating from x = (3/2)y+(5/2) and x=(3/4)y-11/4. I forced my way through that one, but there has got to be a simpler way. Furthermore, I got a wrong answer that way anyway, but I don't know if it's because I'm setting the integral up incorrectly or if I made an error.

Thanks and sorry if the formatting looks weird I've never used this site before.

Physics news on Phys.org
Guess what? We don't know what you did wrong, either ... unless you post your calculations.

SteamKing said:
Guess what? We don't know what you did wrong, either ... unless you post your calculations.

Thanks.

Sorry I should have been more clear when posting this. I'm not really interested in the fact what I did was wrong in the end if technically it should have worked and I just dropped a negative or something somewhere along the way.