Go for a Masters? Considerations for a Career Change

• Thread starter scipy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Masters
In summary, your experience and education might not be the best, but your skills and accomplishments are very impressive.
scipy
Hi,

I'm 28 coming on 29 and I work in the packaging industry Mechanical Engineer. I've been in this industry for about 7 years, and I am bored of it. I am currently looking for changing industries...what i really wish i would have done was gotten a masters degree in something I THINK IS COOL like CFD, Aerospace, Controls, computational methods. Is there any hope for someone like my going back to school and changing industries??

My experience involves some FEA, design validation, but it's mostly custom capital equipment for packaging...not rocket science to say the least.

I know this isn't a "good" physics forum post...u guys are probably not used to dealing with "unrealized potential" complaints...sorry...

basically, i really miss modeling systems and the theory side of things. Lately I've been writing programs in Python on the side just to keep my job interesting and get back in the game.

Physics news on Phys.org
A masters degree is almost always a good choice from a financial standpoint. Also since you're wanting to switch fields it wil be a million times easier coming out of school. Your experience will be a plus.

carlgrace said:
A masters degree is almost always a good choice from a financial standpoint. Also since you're wanting to switch fields it wil be a million times easier coming out of school. Your experience will be a plus.

Well, i have a lot of research to do on this. My GPA is not good...2.9 Cumulative and 3.0 Major studies (mechanical engineering). I did go to a rigorous, well respected undergrad engineering school though. Do you know if Grad school admissions would cut me slack on my GPA because of my work experience?