Generalization of a theorem in Real Analysis

In summary: I am not an expert in that area, so I cannot say for certain.Homework Statement If ##\{K_\alpha\}## is a collection of compact subsets of a metric space X, such that the intersection of every finite subcollection of {##K_\alpha##} is nonempty, then ##\cap K_\alpha## is nonempty. Generalize this theorem and proof the generalization. Why doesn't it make sense to state the theorem in its general form?
Silviu

Homework Statement

If ##\{K_\alpha\}## is a collection of compact subsets of a metric space X, such that the intersection of every finite subcollection of {##K_\alpha##} is nonempty, then ##\cap K_\alpha## is nonempty. Generalize this theorem and proof the generalization. Why doesn't it make sense to state the theorem in its general form?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I know how to prove the actual theorem, but I don't really know what is its generalization in order to attempt to prove it. I don't want yet a proof of the generalization, just its statement. Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Silviu said:

Homework Statement

If ##\{K_\alpha\}## is a collection of compact subsets of a metric space X, such that the intersection of every finite subcollection of {##K_\alpha##} is nonempty, then ##\cap K_\alpha## is nonempty. Generalize this theorem and proof the generalization. Why doesn't it make sense to state the theorem in its general form?

Homework Equations

I know how to prove the actual theorem, but I don't really know what is its generalization in order to attempt to prove it. I don't want yet a proof of the generalization, just its statement. Thank you.
Seems to me that the generalization would change "finite subcolledtion" to "infinite subcollection."

Mark44 said:
Seems to me that the generalization would change "finite subcolledtion" to "infinite subcollection."