General questions about photons and electrons

In summary: That is correct.But for applications as MOSFET, CCD, CMOS we just use a corpuscular model, isn't it ?
honolulu_boy
Hello,

I am a student in Physics and I have some problems to understand how photons and electrons are studied. Is there the assumption that they occupy a so little space in the "Phase space" that they can be considered has point ? Can we expect that in the real case when they "moove" they are distorted or they loose information ?

I will be very greatfull if someone can answer my question.
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Phase Space is no longer used in Quantum Mechanics, it describes classical systems where the electron is treated as a point particle. In Hilbert Space their smooth trajectory is traced along a unit sphere of infinite dimensions, it sounds strange right? Though it is more mathematical (statistics) than physical.

Hi,

LostConjugate said:
In Hilbert Space their smooth trajectory is traced along a unit sphere of infinite dimensions, it sounds strange right? Though it is more mathematical (statistics) than physical.

Yes it's very strange... the fact is that for me "the hilbert space" is a very abstract thing. I supposed that there is no other ways to deal this kind of problems but I would like to know in which kind of application we have to use the Hilbert Space

honolulu_boy said:
Hi,

Yes it's very strange... the fact is that for me "the hilbert space" is a very abstract thing. I supposed that there is no other ways to deal this kind of problems but I would like to know in which kind of application we have to use the Hilbert Space

Only in quantum mechanics, solid state physics, nuclear physics. In the classical limit (macroscopic scale) Phase Space is perfectly accurate. When you ask about the motion of a single electron however you are asking a QM question.

Hope that helps!

LostConjugate said: