Fractal Nature of Gravitational Forces

In summary, the author is suggesting that gravity may follow a law of power, where the more massive an object is, the stronger its gravitational field. He suggests that this is possible on both galactic and stellar scales. However, he is not sure if this is actually mathematically possible.
Lostpinky
Hi All,

I'm no expert, nor have had any training, i just read a lot so I would be interested in some debate about an idea I have after reading lots of different things.

To try help explain the idea I've drawn a crude picture which is attached.

Can anyone explain to me the possibility of having a fractal nature to Gravity. I know gravity is a force and not matter therefore it cannot be directly fractal by itself but it may follow a law of power.

In the picture let's assume we take the force of gravity (G) as 1 on the surface of the Earth, or the moon, or the sun whatever macro body you like.

The we travel a certain distance away until G is 1/10th of surface gravity at which point G would be 1^-1.

Given the mass of the object affecting the actual value of G
EG: Earth G=9.98m/s^2, the moon G=1.625m/s^2
The distance from an object at which you reach 1^-1G would be proportional.

EG: For Earth at about 1.5 million km distance the sun's gravity overwhelms Earth's gravity

So let's say 10% Earth G is about 1350000km from Earth. I don't know if there is a name for this distance but let's call it the "0.1G line".

Now if the 0.1G line is proportional for all masses in the solar system let's move it down to the atomic level.

Imagine being on the surface of an electron or proton. you would feel 1G based on the mass of the particle. You're 0.1G line distance from the particle would be proportional to that of the Earth, depending on mass.

Blow it up further to the size of the galaxy. The 0.1G line would be a proportional distance from the Galactic mass.

Of course:
- Mass affects gravity.