FORTRAN - SUBST help and error

In summary, the conversation discusses a new FORTRAN user trying to debug and compile code. They have questions about the purpose of SUBST and DSUBST and an error they are receiving when running their Makefile. It is determined that the error is due to a capitalization inconsistency in the make files.
ns2455
Hi,

I am new to FORTRAN and trying to debug/compile some code passed on to me.
2 questions:

- What purpose does SUBST or DSUBST serve?
- When I run my Makefile I keep getting the following error:
'PGF90-S-0026-Unmatched quote'
According to the PG manual this translates to 'Integer constant is too large for 32 bit word'
I have tried a bunch of different things but the issue is still unresolved. Any insight on this?

Thanks!

Technology news on Phys.org
Since no one has replied, I'll take a shot. I don't believe that SUBST and DSUBST have anything to do with Fortran. Instead, it appears that they are preprocessor or makefile macros that are used when you build (i.e., compile and link) your application.

For the error message you show, I would look at the make files to see if there is a missing quote somewhere.

Hope this helps...

Hey,

Thanks for your help. We were able to fix the problem. It was a capitalization inconsistency that was leading to all these different errors.

Related to FORTRAN - SUBST help and error

1. What is the purpose of FORTRAN-SUBST?

FORTRAN-SUBST is a subroutine in the FORTRAN programming language that is used to substitute specified characters or strings within a given string. It is commonly used for data manipulation and formatting in scientific and engineering applications.

2. How do I use FORTRAN-SUBST in my code?