Fortran Beginner: What is iostat=stat & buf Argument?

• Fortran
  • Thread starter ydonna1990
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Fortran
In summary, the conversation discusses the meaning of isotat=stat in Fortran and the purpose of the "buf argument". The first result from a Google search provides information on iostat in Fortran, but it is not clear what the "buf argument" refers to. The use of '::' suggests the code may be in Fortran 90 or later, while iostat was used in Fortran 77 or earlier.
ydonna1990
Hello. I am a beginner in the Fortran language and I want to know what isotat=stat means.

also what is exactly the "buf argument"?

Technology news on Phys.org
ydonna1990 said:
I want to know what isotat=stat means

A Google search for "fortran iostat" gave me this page as the first result:

http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/COURSES/cs201/NOTES/chap04/iostatus.html

ydonna1990 said:
what is exactly the "buf argument"?

I don't know what you're asking about here. It might help if you can show us an example.

jtbell said:
A Google search for "fortran iostat" gave me this page as the first result:

http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/COURSES/cs201/NOTES/chap04/iostatus.html
I don't know what you're asking about here. It might help if you can show us an example.

Thanks for the reply.

if (userdefine==0) then

open(100,file='COORD.DAT',iostat=stat)
if(stat==0)then
read(100,'(a)',iostat=stat)line
if ((line(1:2)/='--').and.(line/=' ').and.(line(1:5)/='COORD'))then

ydonna1990 said:
if (userdefine==0) then

open(100,file='COORD.DAT',iostat=stat)
if(stat==0)then
if ((line(1:2)/='--').and.(line/=' ').and.(line(1:5)/='COORD'))then

Where is the "buf argument"? That's what I was asking about.

jtbell said:
Where is the "buf argument"? That's what I was asking about.

SUBROUTINE ConProdOpt(Iphi_in,Ilnkx_in,Ilnky_in,Ilnkz_in,FirstRun_in,Neindx_in)
IMPLICIT NONE
INTEGER,buf ::Iphi_in,Ilnkx_in,Ilnky_in,Ilnkz_in,FirstRun_in