Floating point representation in Maple

In summary, floating point representation in Maple is a method of storing and manipulating numbers with a decimal point in a computer's memory. It uses a combination of a sign, a significand, and an exponent to represent real numbers in a standardized format. Maple uses a binary-based floating point representation that adheres to the IEEE 754 standard, allowing for a wide range of numbers to be represented and efficient mathematical operations to be performed. However, there are limitations to this representation, such as potential rounding errors and loss of precision. Maple also allows for customization of floating point settings, but careful consideration should be taken when making changes to ensure accuracy in calculations.
stunner5000pt
How do i show the floating point reprensetation of a number like say ... 100! or 1000! in maple??

i am relatively new to maple so i am not familiar with many of the commands

Physics news on Phys.org
nevermind i figured it out after some searching

In Maple, the floating point representation of a number can be shown using the "evalf" command. This command evaluates a mathematical expression and displays the result in floating point format.

To show the floating point representation of a number like 100! or 1000!, you can first use the "factorial" command to calculate the factorial of the number. For example, for 100!, you can use the command "factorial(100)" which will give you the result of 9.33262154439441e+157.

Then, you can use the "evalf" command to show the result in floating point format. For example, for 100!, you can use the command "evalf(factorial(100))" which will give you the result of 9.33262154439441e+157.

Similarly, for 1000!, you can use the command "evalf(factorial(1000))" which will give you the result of 4.02387260077094e+2567.