Finding volumetric flow rate from pressure?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of calculating the volumetric flow rate from instantaneous pressure in order to run a CFD simulation of the intake system in an engine. It is mentioned that more data and assumptions are needed, such as the size of the intake port and whether the flow is laminar or turbulent. The conversation also touches on the importance of obtaining the intake area and cylinder geometry in order to determine the appropriate formulas for calculating the flow rate.
U6an
Hello everyone,

I am quite new to Fluid dynamics, so I would like to ask for your help.

Is it possible to calculate volumetric flow rate from the instantaneous pressure?

We need to know the flow rate of the air entering the cylinder in the engine due to the suction pressure. It is required to run a CFD simulation of the intake system.

Regards,
U6an

Physics news on Phys.org
U6an said:
Is it possible to calculate volumetric flow rate from the instantaneous pressure?
Yes, but you need more data and some assumptions.
U6an said:
We need to know the flow rate of the air entering the cylinder in the engine due to the suction pressure.
You need the size of the hole the air enters by. You also need to specify whether you assume laminar air flow or turbulent.

Svein,
Thank you for you reply.

Could you please tell me if you mean the bore of the cylinder or the intake port diameter?
The flow will probably be turbulent, but I am not sure. Could you also give me a hint on how can I know if the flow is turbulent or not?

Attachments

• 72180-035-B143017A.jpg
    72180-035-B143017A.jpg
    25.1 KB · Views: 605
U6an said:
Could you please tell me if you mean the bore of the cylinder or the intake port diameter?
I assume that the air enters through the intake port, so that is what is needed.
U6an said:
The flow will probably be turbulent, but I am not sure.